Hymn arrangements I’d like our choir to sing

13 June 2006 at 10:09 am 10 comments

Ronald Staheli's SATB arrangement of Awake Ye Saints of God Awake.

David R. Naylor's SATB arrangement of Abide with Me. (audio)

more to come…

Entry filed under: Music ideas.

The Merrill Bradshaw archive Abide with Me at Ward Conference

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. C.B.  |  28 July 2006 at 8:54 pm

    I am looking for a nice and preferably free
    arrangement for “Because I Have Been Given Much”.

    Anyone??

    Reply
  • 2. Spencer Willis  |  9 August 2006 at 2:31 pm

    Michelle Willis’ arrangements of Saints, Behold How Great Jehovah and Glory to God are both very good and singable. Our stake did an instant choir (we practiced for 90 minutes before stake conference and learned 3 songs including “Saints, Behold”. You can see her music at http://www.tetonmusic.com/ldscatalog

    Reply
  • 3. Spencer Willis  |  9 August 2006 at 2:33 pm

    Sorry, here’s the real link: http://www.tetonmusic.com/ldscatalog.htm

    Reply
  • 4. Katie Hutchinson  |  25 September 2006 at 5:50 am

    Greg Hansen has done some nice arrangements of Abide with Me that I really like. You can find them at ldsmusicnow.com.

    Reply
  • 5. thomas lohman  |  14 November 2006 at 12:46 am

    Did anyone ever find a great arrangment for 4 part or 3 parts on “Because I have been given much”?

    tl

    Reply
  • 6. Ashley Hall  |  4 September 2008 at 5:46 pm

    “Because I Have Been Given Much” has a copyright that does not allow copies without permission, so it will be hard to find arrangements (too bad — I would love to do one!).

    Reply
  • 7. Marilyn  |  8 February 2010 at 12:54 am

    I find that the hardest pat of directing the ward choir is selecting music. Is there a list on this blog of “best ward choir music”? I’d love to see that–let’s share favorites, maybe even swap sheetmusic through mail? I LOVE harmony, modulation, expressive dynamics. I live in an area where I have music readers in every section of our SATB choir. I downloaded 6 or so arrangements that I’m really happy with by Zabriski, mostly. I also LOVE Faith in every Footstep(SSAATTBB), Behold the Wounds in Jesus Hands, I love the Lord, This is the CHrist, Testimony: A Hymn Medley. I love “Stars Were Gleaming” or Infant Holy. I’m looking into DeFord’s Beautiful Savior and WHile SHepherds Watch their Flocks, He Sent His Son Hoffeins, Abide with Me Naylor and I Know that my Redeemer Lives, Naylor. That Easter Morn Jorgensen, ANyway–this is what I have so far–what about you? What have you loved or if this is already somewhere on teh web, where? THanks so much!

    Reply
    • 8. Jay Williams  |  5 February 2011 at 7:15 am

      Please have a look: These free arrangements are tried and true, easy for most ward choirs, with a focus on SAB.

      Reply
  • 9. Dionne Tarpenning  |  22 May 2011 at 3:19 pm

    Is there a site to listen to some of the choir songs?

    Reply
  • 10. Lucy Weymouth  |  19 February 2012 at 12:10 am

    Marilyn, I, too, am hungry for more SATB music of the same sort as you. DeFord has some of my favorites: “Cast your burden on the Lord”, “Jesus the very thought of thee”, and “It came upon a midnight clear”. Right now, we are loving practicing “Oh, that I were and angel” by Wanda West Palmer. It’s hard to play but I have really talented pianists so that’s a big help.
    I thank you so much for mentioning your favorites. Your help was sorely needed. If you have more, I’d love to check them out.

    Lucy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 84,449 hits

